1996 Currahee Veterans Reunion
July 11-13
Clarksville, TN

Welcome Table
photo by Bob Acklen (B/C Co, 3rd BN, 1969-1970)
Manning the Welcome Table at the Ramada Inn are (L-R): Bob Acklen (B/C Co, 3rd BN,
and Gene Overton (C Co, 1st BN, 1967-1968), co-founders of the 506th Airborne
Infantry Regiment Association (Airmobile - Air Assault).

Vietnam Veterans Monument
photos by Hoyt Bruce Moore, III (A Co, 1st BN, 1970-1971)
July 11: GEN(R) William Childs Westmoreland (Commander, US Military Assistance
Command Vietnam, 1964-1968)
gave the keynote address for the dedication ceremony of
the Screaming Eagle Vietnam Veterans Monument. The Rogers Group, Inc. (RGI),
in cooperation with the Tennessee-Kentucky Chapter of the Association of the US Army
donated and constructed the monument. Local artist Steve Shields of Hopkinsville, KY,
was commissioned to sculpt a Returning Eagle, symbolizing the return of the 101st
Airborne Division (Airmobile) from Vietnam to Fort Campbell in 1972.

101st Airborne Division (Air Assault) Review
Week of the Eagles 1996
July 11, 1996
5:30-7:00 p.m.

Lining Up
photo by Bob Acklen (B/C Co, 3rd BN, 1969-1970)

506th veterans getting ready for the 101st Division Review

(Front of photo facing camera L-R): Ken Parr (A Co, 1st BN, 1970-1971); Cliff Farmer
(E Co (Recon), 3rd BN, 1967-1968
; Gene Overton (C Co, 1st BN, 1967-1968); Terona
Chivers (B/C/HHC, 3rd BN, 1967-1968); Brise Bickerton (B/C/E/HHC, 1st BN, 1967-1969).
CPT(R)Terry Van Meter (B/C/HHC, 2nd BN, 1966-1968)

Pass in Review
photo by Peggy Pearson

Parade Field at Fort Campbell, KY

The Division Review was led off by a Pass in Review of Division veterans.
Veterans in the yellow T-Shirts are Currahees from the 506th Association.

Fort Campbell Officer's Club
July 11, 1996
7-10 p.m.

photos by Bob Acklen (B/C Co, 3rd BN, 1969-1970)
Regimental Candle
COL(R) Othar J. Shalikashvili (HHC, 3rd BN CO, Dec 70-May 71)
lights the Regimental candle in the Currahee Memorial Ceremony.

Battalion Candles
(L-R): Terona Chivers (B/C/HHC, 3rd BN, 1967-1968); CPT(R) Terry Van Meter
(B/C/HHC, 2nd BN, 1966-1968);
and MSG(R) John Keene [E Co (Mortars), 1st BN,
light the 3rd, 2nd, and 1st Battalion, 506th candles during the
Currahee Memorial Ceremony.

First General Membership Meeting
1-3:30 pm - July 12, 1996
Wilson Theater, Fort Campbell, KY

Membership Meeting
photo by Bob Acklen (B/C Co, 3rd BN, 1969-1970)

Currahee veterans who attended the first 506th General Membership Meeting.

These Currahees voted unanimously to form a 506th Association and selected Gene
Overton, Bob Acklen, Brise Bickerton, Terry Van Meter,
and Mike Metzger as
members of a Charter Committee to provide direction during the formation period of
the Association.

The following Currahees attended the 1996 General Membership Meeting:
Bob Acklen B/C Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Texas
Walter Armstrong C Co, 3rd BN Georgia
Brise Bickerton B/C/E/HHC, 1st BN, 67-69 Pennsylvania
Larry Bowman C Co, 1st BN & 3rd BN, 67-68 Maryland
George Calloway E /HHC, 1st BN, 67-68 Maryland
Benjamin Cathey D Co, 1st BN North Carolina
Ray Champoux E Co (Recon), 3rd BN, 69-70 Oklahoma
Terona Chivers B/C/HHC, 3rd BN, 67-68 Tennessee
James Cleaver C Co, 3rd BN Texas
Steve Cook B Co, 3rd BN, 67-68 Virginia
Mike Dingman D Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Virginia
Clement Dombrowski C Co, 1st BN, 69-70 Virginia
Barry Dussault E Co (Recon), 3rd BN, 67-68 Massachusetts
Gene Fetters C Co, 3rd BN Ohio
Ray Fletcher E Co, 3rd BN Washingon
Resty Habon HHC, 1st BN, 65-67 California
Jeff Hagadorn D Co, 3rd BN, 1970 New York
Jim Harvey D Co, 3rd BN Ohio
Ken Herwehe E(Recon)/HHC, 3rd BN, 69-70 Pennsylvania
Allan Hunter D Co, 3rd BN Virginia
Brad Kandl C Co, 3rd BN Illinois
MSG(R) John Keene E Co (Mortars), 1st BN, 67-69 Florida
Fred Kennel C Co, 3rd BN, 70-71 California
Terry Kuper D Co, 3rd BN South Dakota
Phil Lawson C Co, 3rd BN Arkansas
Jim Lyddane E Co (Recon), 3rd BN Kansas
Ray Macias B Co, 3rd BN, 1970 Tennessee
Fred May A Co, 1st BN, 70-71 New Jersey
Mike Metzger B/C/D/HHC, 1st BN, 66-68 California
Tony Montesa HHC, 3rd BN, 1968 Texas
Hoyt Bruce Moore, III A Co, 1st BN, 70-71 California
Gary Mueller C Co, 3rd BN Missouri
Doug Mullens C Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Nevada
Theodore Oliver HHC, 2nd BN Michigan
Gene Overton C Co, 1st BN, 67-68 New York
Ken Parr A Co, 1st BN, 70-71 Ohio
Bill Pascucci C Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Connecticut
Louis Petrarca C Co, 3rd BN Rhode Island
Jim Powell C Co, 3rd BN, 69-71 Florida
Gail Puckett C Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Indiana
Curtis Rowe A Co, 3rd BN, 1969 Florida
Bill Rybolt C Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Ohio
Jay Schrom A Co, 2nd BN, 1968 Minnesota
Dennis Seely E Co (Mortars), 1st BN, 67-68 South Dakota
COL(R) Othar Shalikashvili HHC, 3rd BN CO, 70-71 Pennsylvania
Bobby Smith C Co, 3rd BN South Carolina
Jim Stinebaker C/HHC, 2nd BN, 67-68 Missouri
Mike Sullivan C/E Co, 3rd BN, 68-69 Illinois
CPT(R) Terry Van Meter B/C/HHC, 2nd BN, 66-68 Kansas
Larry White C Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Louisiana
Ken Wydeven D Co, 3rd BN, 69-70 Wisconsin
Gene Zrinyi C Co, 3rd BN, 68-70 Ohio

These pages are maintained the
506th Airborne Infantry Regiment Association (Airmobile - Air Assault)
This page updated 04/06/13